Bandmasters Review - December 2019

Texas Bands Score High in National Competitions NAMMB CONTEST Congratulations to the bands who competed in the NAMMB (NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MILITARY MARCHING BANDS) Contest. The 2019 results are: 2A 1st Place Timpson HS 2nd Place Beckville HS 3rd Place Carlisle HS 3A 1st Place New Diana HS 2nd Place Hemphill HS 3rd Place Ore City HS 4A 1st Place Spring Hill HS 2nd Place Carthage HS 3rd Place Pittsburg HS 5A 1st Place Lufkin HS 2nd Place Cleveland HS 3rd Place Lindale HS 6A 1st Place Longview HS 2nd Place Kingwood HS BOA GRAND NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS Music for All’s Bands of America Grand National Championships, presented by Yamaha, was held in Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, in November. The Championships is the annual competition between 95 of America’s top high school level marching bands. Congratulations to the following Texas bands on their outstanding Finals Performances. CONCERT BANDS L. V. BERKNER HIGH SCHOOL SYMPHONIC BAND I Richardson • Jason Schayot, director C. T. JOHNSON HIGH SCHOOL WIND ENSEMBLE San Antonio • Jarrett Lipman, director CEDAR PARK MIDDLE SCHOOL SYMPHONIC BAND Cedar Park • Britni Dunn, director CENTRAL JUNIOR HIGH SYMPHONIC BAND Euless • Christine Belle Cumberledge, director CLEMENTS HIGH SCHOOL SYMPHONIC BAND Houston • Daniel Galloway, director GRISHAM MIDDLE SCHOOL HONORS BAND Austin • Liz Love & Jay Hagy, directors KILLIAN MIDDLE SCHOOL HONORS BAND Lewisville • Rob Chilton, director JAZZ BANDS BRADLEY MIDDLE SCHOOL JAZZ BAND San Antonio • Karlos Elizondo, director WAXAHACHIE HIGH SCHOOL JAZZ ORCHESTRA Waxahachie • Rich Armstrong, director CHAMBER ENSEMBLES ARBOR CREEK MIDDLE SCHOOL SAXOPHONE ENSEMBLE Carrollton • Rylon Guidry, director MCCALLUM HIGH SCHOOL PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE Austin • Matt Ehlers, director TIMBER CREEK HIGH SCHOOL SAXOPHONE ENSEMBLE Keller • Daniel Malacon, director UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS-AUSTIN WIND ENSEMBLE PLAYERS Austin • Jerry F. Junkin, director W. CHURCHILL HIGH SCHOOL PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE San Antonio • Colton Bean, director ORCHESTRAS GARCIA MIDDLE SCHOOL CAMERATA ORCHESTRA Houston • Frances Weberpal & Giovanni Fuentes, directors RONALD REAGAN HIGH SCHOOL CHAMBER ORCHESTRA San Antonio • Sixto Elizondo IV, director SOUTH MIDDLE SCHOOL SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA Edinburg • Omar Estrella & Cassandra C. Sanchez, directors WESTWOOD HIGH SCHOOL SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA Austin • Joshua Thompson & Thomas Turpin, directors THE MIDWEST CLINIC Eighteen Texas schools were asked to perform in Chicago at The Midwest Clinic in December. Over 18,000 music educators from all 50 states and 30 countries attend this annual conference. 1st Place and Grand National Champion – Vandegrift HS, TX • Mike Howard, director 2nd Place – Avon HS, IN 3rd Place – Hebron HS, TX • Andy Sealy, director 4th Place – Carmel HS, IN 5th Place – Leander HS, TX • Robert Selaiden, director 6th Place – C. T. Johnson HS, TX • Jarrett Lipman, director 7th Place – William Mason HS, OH 8th Place – The Woodlands HS, TX • Joni Perez, director 9th Place – Round Rock HS, TX • David Mobley, director 10th Place – Homestead HS, IN 11th Place – Union HS, OK 12th Place – Ayala HS, CA Outstanding Music Performance – Hebron HS, TX Outstanding Visual Performance – Avon HS, IN Outstanding General Effect – Vandegrift HS, TX