

# **Panhandle Band History: A Reflection**

CLINICIANS: Dr. Gary Garner and Dr. Charles Trayler

> MODERATOR: Cody Myers

Texas Bandmasters Association 2012 Convention/Clinic



JULY 20 – 23, 2012 HENRY B. GONZALEZ CONVENTION CENTER SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS The Texas Panhandle. This is a land of rich history, bountiful resources, and the finest people to be found anywhere. Palo Duro Canyon is the signature feature of the Panhandle region, plunging deep into the otherwise rolling plains and grassland. Many remember the Panhandle as home to cattleman Charles Goodnight, the Adobe Walls Indian battles, or the Wild West town of Old Tascosa at the site of present day Boys Ranch.

Upon entering the present era school life became paramount in rural Panhandle communities. School bands emerged as an enduring source of pride for many. These band programs have created a historical record of their own.

Here to recall some of the Panhandle band lore are Dr. Charles Trayler and Dr. Gary Garner. Dr. Trayler grew up in Spearman where he was a trombone player in the band of Bandmaster Hall of Fame Director Sam Watson. With 39 years experience as both a band student and director in the Panhandle, Dr. Trayler is an authority on regional band history. He and his wife Judy live in Dalhart. Dr. Gary Garner, WTAMU Director Emeritus, is nothing short of a legend in Texas and across the nation. Dr. Garner has enjoyed 55 years experience as a student and director in the Fanhandle. He has molded an entire generation of outstanding Bandmasters who have wielded terrific influence in the direction of the Texas Band Movement. Dr. Garner is a resident of Amarillo.

Moderator for today's clinic is Cody Myers of Amarillo. Mr. Myers has spent 31 years as a WT student and director in the Panhandle. He has spent the past 15 years as Director of Fine Arts for Amarillo ISD. He resides in Bushland with his wife Starrla.

Britni Nuckols is assisting with the technical aspects of today's clinic. She and her husband Justin are both middle school band directors in Amarillo ISD.

# **Panhandle Band History:** A Reflection

Introduction

Evolution of Marching Band in the Texas Panhandle

Honor Bands from the Texas Panhandle

Influence of WISU on Panhandle Bands

Remembrances of Texas Panhandle Bands

### Thi Beta Mu

## **Texas Bandmasters Hall of Fame**

#### <u>Inducted</u>

- 1975 Jack Mahan: Borger 1941. Co-founder of Phi Beta Mu.
- 1977 Robert (Chief) Davidson: McLean Municipal Band and McLean High School Band 1927-1935.
- 1991 Bill Bradley: Memphis 1961-1964.
- 1991 Joe DiCosimo: Pampa 1955-1986.
- 1991 Robert Fielder: Phillips 1936-1941.
- 1991 J.W. King: Canyon 1970-1979.
- 1991 Ray Robbins: Clarendon 6 yrs; Pampa 6 yrs; Phillips 21 yrs.
- 1991 Ralph G. Smith: Childress 1949-1952; Dimmitt 1952-1983.
- Sam Watson: Wildorado 1949-1950; Spearman 1951-1967; Phillips 1968-1973;
  Pampa 1973-1986.
- 1991 Oscar Wise: Organized first Amarillo High School Band 1922.
- 1992 D.W. (Dub) Crain Jr.: Sunray 1972-1973; Dumas 1973-1983.
- 1992 Gerald Smith: Dalhart 1950-1951; McLean 1952-1955; Panhandle 1955-1985.
- 1992 J. Ralph Smith: Organized Hereford Community Band 1902; Hereford 1921-1928;
  Plainview 1929-1930; Hereford 1930-1945.
- 1993 Robert Gans: Borger 1965-1973.
- 1996 Ada Creel: Phillips 1948-1963. Founded "Music Makers" stage band.

#### **Panhandle Band History: A Reflection**

- 1996 Wayne Muller: Tascosa 1958-1962; Amarillo High 1963-1965.
- 1997 Clyde H. Rowe: Borger 1939-1940; Amarillo High 1943-1950
- 1998 Bill Tregoe: Fampa 1953-1962.
- 2001 Lee Boyd Montgomery: Canyon 1962-1964.
- 2001 Don Baird: WTSU 1965-1979.
- 2001 Fred Stockdale: Pampa 1962-1966.
- 2001 Gary Zook: Canyon 1964-1979.
- 2002 Willis Giddens: Shamrock 1957-1963; Friona 1963-1970.
- 2002 Ben Gollehon: Pampa Jr. High 1958-1960; Hereford 1960-1973.
- 2003 Dr. Gary Garner: WTSU (WTAMU) 1963-2002. Director Emeritus.
- 2003 Joe Mack Hill: Stratford 1958-1966; Dumas Jr. High 1966-1975.
- 2004 Harris Brinson: Pampa Jr. High 1964-1966; Pampa High School 1966-1973; Phi Beta Mu International Past President.
- 2005 Tom Neugent: White Deer 1966-1967.
- 2006 Phil Anthony: Clarendon 1964-1967.
- 2007 Don Hanna: Amarillo High 1992-1994.
- 2007 Dr. Charles Trayler: Sunray 1966; Dalhart 1983-1995; Dumas 1996-2005.
- 2007 Clyde Wilson: Hereford 1962-1966; Julia 1966-1968.
- 2008 Randy Vaughn: Claude 1967-1968; Hereford Jr. High 1968-1970; Hereford High School 1970-1982.

# Leadership & Awards

## Texas Music Educators Association

### <u> Past Presidents</u>

Robert Fielder	1954-1955	Kathy Fishburn	1990-1991	
Hugh Sanders	1968-1970	Dan Hood	<i>1994-1995</i>	
J.W. King	1972-1974	Don Hanna	<i>1995-1996</i>	
Bill Cormack	1974-1975	Barry Talley	2000-2001	
Band Division Chairmen				
JW King	1970-1971	Don Hanna	<i>1992-1993</i>	

### **Texas Bandmasters Association**

	<u>I</u> a	st Presidents		
J.W. King	1966	Harris Brinson	1988	
Ralph G. Smith	1969	Randy Vaughn	1993	
D.W. (Dub) Crain Jr.	1979	Phil Anthony	1994	
Dr. Charles Trayler	<i>1982</i>	Roger Edwards	2001	
Fred Stockdale	ckdale 1984 Cody Myers		2008	
	<u> Texas Ban</u>	dmasters of the Year		
Ray Robbins	1969	Ralph G. Smith	1979	
J.W. King	1977	Dr. Gary Garner	1987	
Sam Watson	1978	Harris Brinson	2001	
	<u>Meritorious</u>	Achievement Awards		
Dr. Charles Trayler	2001	Don Hanna	2006	
Randy Vaughn	2002	Lee Boyd Montgomery	2007	
	<u>Lifetime A</u>	<u>dministrator Awards</u>		
Que Manuer Mainer	9009	Pade Museu	9/19	

Dr. Harry Haines	2002	Cody Myers	2012
24. Ourry Ountes	2002	Comp Mycus	2012

### Band Honors

### Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinics

- 1960 Pampa High School Band, Bill Tregoe
- 1970 Pampa High School Band, Harris Brinson
- 1998 Amarillo High School Symphony Orchestra, Roger Edwards

### <u>UIL State Marching Band Finalists</u>

1995	$2\mathcal{A}$	Canadian High School, Fred Pankratz	4th
2004	$3\mathcal{A}$	Canyon High School, Mike Sheffield	3rd
2007	$2\mathcal{A}$	Panhandle High School, Jason Jones	7th

### <u> TMEA Honor Band Finalists</u>

1961	Amarillo High School	Bill Latson	<b>4</b> A	3 <sup>rd</sup>
1963	Tulia High School	Bruce Cook	$2\mathcal{A}$	5 <sup>th</sup>
1965	Pampa High School	Fred Stockdale	<b>4</b> A	4 <sup>th</sup>
1966	Tulia High School	Bruce Cook	$3\mathcal{A}$	4 <sup>th</sup>
1966	Memphis High School	Ronnie Wells	1A	<b>J</b> st
1967	Pampa High School	Harris Brinson	<b>4</b> A	5 <sup>th</sup>
1968	Hereford High School	Ben Gollehon	$3\mathcal{A}$	1st
1969	Pampa High School	Harris Brinson	<b>4</b> A	5 <sup>th</sup>
1970	Canyon High School	Gary Zook	$3\mathcal{A}$	1st

1972	Gruver High School	Vic Kyler	1А-В	4th
1973	Perryton Middle School	James Petty	1C-2C	4 <sup>th</sup>
1976	Stratford High School	Gary Laramore	1A	2 <sup>nd</sup>
1980	Sunray High School	Coy Cook	1A	4th
1982	Stratford High School	Randy Hunsaker	$2\mathcal{A}$	4th
1984	Stratford High School	Randy Hunsaker	$2\mathcal{A}$	2 <sup>nd</sup>
1984	Booker High School	Kent Jordan	1A	2 <sup>nd</sup>
1984	Canyon High School	John Strother	$3\mathcal{A}$	4th
1988	Canyon High School	Ken Carriere	<b>4</b> A	5 <sup>th</sup>
1988	Shamrock High School	Daryll Kaire	$2\mathcal{A}$	5 <sup>th</sup>
1988	Nazareth High School	Bernie Iackitt	<b>1</b> A	3rd
1989	Pampa Middle School	Bruce Collins	<b>1</b> C	2 <sup>nd</sup>
1991	Canyon High School	Bill Carden	$3\mathcal{A}$	2 <sup>nd</sup>
1991	Pampa Middle School	Bruce Collins	<b>2</b> C	5 <sup>th</sup>
1994	Randall High School	Ken Carriere	<b>4</b> A	4th
1994	Canadian High School	Fred Pankratz	$2\mathcal{A}$	3rd
1998	Canadian High School	Fred Pankratz	$2\mathcal{A}$	7 <sup>th</sup>
1998	Happy High School	Shannon Dow	<b>1</b> A	4 <sup>th</sup>
2002	Canadian High School	Fred Pankratz	<b>1</b> A	2 <sup>nd</sup>
2004	Sunray High School	Zane Polson	<b>1</b> A	4 <sup>th</sup>
2005	Canyon High School	Mike Sheffield	$3\mathcal{A}$	1st
2011	Canadian High School	Will Brewer	<b>1</b> A	1st