2018 Malcolm Helm Memorial Endowed Scholarship Winner

Taylor Gaskins is in her senior year as a Music Education major at the University of North Texas. Taylor, a 2015 graduate of Vandegrift High School, studies clarinet with Professor Daryl Coad and music education with Professor Dennis Fisher, Dr. Nicholas Williams, and Dr. Donna Emmanuel. She served on the Green Brigade Marching Band leadership team as the Student Assistant for Marketing and Student Engagement, a section leader, and a field technician. Taylor has performed with both the Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble during her tenure at UNT. Additionally, she thoroughly enjoyed performing as a featured bass clarinetist on "Giroux: Shine", a CD of Julie Giroux's compositions released in April 2018.

Taylor currently serves as the Recording Secretary for the Phi Tau Chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon and holds membership in both Pi Kappa Lambda and Phi Kappa Phi. Outside of school, Taylor is the lead counselor and social media chair for UNT's ClarEssentials Summer Workshop, maintains a private studio at Melissa Middle School in Melissa ISD, and is a marching technician for Timber Creek High School in Keller ISD. In addition to the Helm Scholarship, Taylor is a 2015 recipient of the TMEA Executive Board Scholarship.

When not in a practice room, in class, in rehearsal, or teaching, Taylor can be found attempting to play ukulele, writing short stories, attending Tuesday night collegiate services at her



church, spending time with her friends, Skyping her family, or thinking about dessert. She hopes to teach middle school band in Texas after graduating in May 2019 and plans to encourage her students to pursue excellence and define the standard in all they do.

Taylor would like to thank her parents for their incredible support, for many years of music lessons, and for tolerating her beginning clarinet sounds, along with her friends and all of the music educators in her life for their guidance, instruction, and mentorship. Without their encouragement, her life would look quite different... and distinctly less musical! These teachers include Amy Allison, Chris Yee, Carter Matschek, Jeremy Spicer, Mike Howard, Stephanie Grote, Katherine VanDoren, Gary Meyer, Michael Zook, Julie Linder-Gaulin, John Parker, and Dodie Morris.